Forum Discussion

DarkSideOfTheQ_
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
Nov 20, 2008

Virtual Server multiple service ports

Hello,

I am new to F5 devices and load balancers in general, only having limited exposure to some Foundry devices until now. I am curious about what I've read and seen thus far about creating a virtual server and the ports it will allow connections on. Do I really need to create a new virtual server for each port that I want available or am I overlooking something and creating more work for myself?

Thanks,

DarkSide

35 Replies

• Thanks for your help - same result - it's almost as though no iRules are being applied to this vServer...

• What makes you to go to irule , instead of creating simple Virtual listening on port 443 and 2030. if possible can you paste configs

• Because of this: https://devcentral.f5.com/codeshare?sid=560 - I'm adapting that principle to my problem - which is a long story - but, it looks like if I can't formulate/find an iRule that's up to the task, then I'll resort to individual vServers which is also best practice for a number of reasons anyway.

Joe_Curl_105786

Where are you applying the iRule? It should be on the VIP. Those rules look correct and very similar to what we use here. If it is not being hit, then it does not sound like it has been applied.

benjamin_gate_3

I've gone to Local Traffic > Virtual Servers > click on virtual server name > Resources tab > Manage > and add the iRule

• Because of this: https://devcentral.f5.com/codeshare?sid=560 - I'm adapting that principle to my problem - which is a long story - but, it looks like if I can't formulate/find an iRule that's up to the task, then I'll resort to individual vServers which is also best practice for a number of reasons anyway.

Joe_Curl_105786

Where are you applying the iRule? It should be on the VIP. Those rules look correct and very similar to what we use here. If it is not being hit, then it does not sound like it has been applied.